Twisted Silver Inside the GRAMMY MusiCares Gala

Me, representing Twisted Silver at the GRAMMY MusiCares 2010 gala

I’m back from my annual whirlwind GRAMMY week trip where Twisted Silver was invited again to adorn musical royalty in jewelry. In a later post, I’ll get to the celebs who couldn’t get enough Twisted.  But for now I thought I’d share my experience as I took a seat this time among the music elite at the annual GRAMMY MusiCares Person of the Year tribute to Neil Young.

The gala was a star studded event, and the first stop was the silent auction.  All proceeds benefit MusiCares, an organization that helps musicians in times of need.  I hadn’t really clued in to the fact that I may just be bumping in to celebs, when I looked up and there was a Jason Mraz look alike.  My thought was, “That poor guy. He’s at a big Grammy thing like this people are going to think it is Jason Mraz.”  Later on I see him come out on stage to sing. Yep, it was him.  LOVE the guy!

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=MusiCares+2010+jason+mraz&iid=7750872″ src=”1/2/8/3/2010_MusiCares_Person_934a.jpg?adImageId=9905971&imageId=7750872″ width=”234″ height=”197″ /]

From there dinner was served, and as I walked to the dining room I passed Lady Antebellum. Yep all of them.  I had to be discreet, but I just couldn’t resist snapping a pic with my phone.

Lady Antebellum

Sheesh were they great on stage! And then as I turn to my other side, who was that pretty lady laughing it up?  Sheryl Crow. We were practically walking together….. Well, near each other anyway!

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=MusiCares+2010+sheryl+crow&iid=7750886″ src=”5/a/2/d/2010_MusiCares_Person_9089.jpg?adImageId=9905862&imageId=7750886″ width=”234″ height=”287″ /]

Casually who walks Right passed us? Nicole Kidman and Keith Urban. No one seems to bat an eye.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=MusiCares+2010+kidman+urban&iid=7750847″ src=”0/6/7/e/2010_MusiCares_Person_5f7d.jpg?adImageId=9905939&imageId=7750847″ width=”234″ height=”322″ /]

Then the show began with the host for the evening, Jack Black. And it was one super star performance after the next for hours and hours.

There was John Cougar Mellencamp, Ozomatli, Jackson Browne and Stephen Stills and Sheryl Crow on accordion doing, “Long You May Run”.  I loved it.  Sheryl even makes the accordion cool!

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=MusiCares+2010+sheryl+crow&iid=7750896″ src=”5/a/2/0/2010_MusiCares_Person_c310.jpg?adImageId=9906172&imageId=7750896″ width=”234″ height=”314″ /]

“Only Love Can Break Your Heart” was performed by Lady Antebellum (LOVED!) followed by NORAH JONES (one of my faves) played guitar to “Tell Me Why“.  I had no idea she was so young.  She has 5 Grammys!  Her rich voice just filled the hall.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=MusiCares+2010+jones&iid=7750916″ src=”0/6/c/b/2010_MusiCares_Person_1f60.jpg?adImageId=9906013&imageId=7750916″ width=”234″ height=”276″ /]

Maybe I am the only one who didn’t know the group, Wilco, but now I do.  “Broken Arrow” was great!  Josh Groban performed “Harvest Moon” and you should have heard every woman at our table audibly swooning.  Groban made it into a Josh Groban song.  Incredible!

My Personal Highlight of the night was “Rockin’ In the Free World” done by Keith Urban, John Fogerty, and Booker T. You should have seen Keith move!  Maybe it is because I am a huge fan of his, but on stage he WAS the song.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=MusiCares+2010+urban&iid=7750852″ src=”9/e/8/d/2010_MusiCares_Person_62f6.jpg?adImageId=9906224&imageId=7750852″ width=”234″ height=”187″ /]

The funniest part was when they announced that they had unearthed old footage of young Neil Young and played it.  It was Jimmy Fallon’s impersonation of Neil Young doing “Pants on the Ground
The MOMENT of the night happened as Elton John hit a chord on the piano.  So distinctive!  Just one chord caused goose bumps to ripple across the crowd and everyone had a clear picture of who it was playing.  I didn’t know one chord had that kind of power.  He should have it trademarked his own.

The event was truly the insider concert for the GRAMMY insiders. .  I felt honored to have Twisted Silver included.  As I walked out, I was suddenly aware that  I was right by Ray Liota.

More to come about who wore Twisted…

Share

5 thoughts on “Twisted Silver Inside the GRAMMY MusiCares Gala

  1. It looks to me like you (and your jewelry) will be at events like these all the time in the future! I can honestly say I’m not surprised. Sheryl Crow is always wearing Twitsed-like accessories, so she’s going to flip when she gets the real deal.

  2. I can’t wait to hear that version of Harvest Moon from Josh Groban!! He has the greatest voice that can sing any song and nail it!

Leave a Reply

